Top

User Accounts and Permissions

Wavebid provides means to enable different levels of access to employees and associates on a company account. This article describes the difference between Admin and User Roles, the process for creating a new User Account, and how to set user permissions. For information on resetting a user's password, see Wavebid Basics.

Admin Role vs. User Role

Create or Edit Users

User Authorities 

Troubleshooting

 

Admin Role vs. User Role                                                                         

There are several differences between the capabilities of a company Admin role and a standard User role in Wavebid. The first role account created for a company will always be the primary Admin. Most companies will choose just a select few Admins but have many Users. To ensure employees have the appropriate capabilities and restrictions, understanding the difference between the two roles is imperative. Once a user is assigned a ole, additional permissions may be turned on or off to alter the user's access further.

Admin Role Abilities

"ROLE_COMPANY_ADMIN" is a quick way to give users access to everything within the company on Wavebid. This should be reserved for the most trusted users. Admins have the authority to do the following:

  • View all auctions, inventory, and appraisal workspaces on the company account
  • Edit company preferences by clicking My Links > Company > Profile
  • Create and update additional users by clicking My Links > User > Profile
  • Edit user authorities by clicking My Links > User > Authorities
  • Edit settings and links to Bidding Platforms by clicking My Links > Company > Cataloging Settings > Export
  • Lock and unlock auction workspaces through the Edit Settings page of the auction
  • View all reports related to all auctions under My Links > All Auctions
  • View, edit, and download all customer lists under My Links > Company > Customers

User Role Abilities

The default User role is called "ROLE_USER." Users with this role designation have the basic authority to do the following: 

  • Update their own profile information My Links > User > Profile
  • Reset their password
  • Manage catalogs, as well as lock/unlock auction workspaces if they are set as the auction's Coordinator

While basic features for default Users is limited, additional permissions can be granted to individual Users by any Admin. 

 

Franchise Role Abilities

This Role is only available to auction houses with multiple Wavebid accounts. A "ROLE_FRANCHISE" user has the ability to access any Wavebid accounts for a company.

 

Edit Role Designation

To change the role designation on an account from Admin to User, or from User to Admin:

  1. Navigate to My Links > User > Authorities
  2. Begin typing the user's name or username into the User field. Click on the user's name from the Search Results list that appears. EditUserSearchField.PNG 
  3. To add a role, click on a Role from the Available Roles list on the left side of the page and click the Add button. The Role will move to the Assigned Roles list and will be assigned to the user. AssignRoles.PNG           
  4. To remove a role, click on a Role from the Assigned Roles list on the right side of the page and click the Remove button. The Role will move to the Available Roles list and will be removed from the user.
  5. Click the Save button in the top right corner of the page. If the impacted user is currently logged in, they will need to log out and then log back in to see the changes.

 

Create or Edit Users                                                                                 

Wavebid allows companies to have an unlimited number of users for no extra fees, and there is no limit on how many users can be logged in simultaneously. However, only company Admins can create new user accounts. To create a new user:

  • Go to My Links > User > Profile.

  • To edit an existing user, select them from the User drop-down.

For new users, enter their information in the various fields. Fields with an asterisk (*) are required.mceclip0.png         

 

  • Username: This can be anything as long as it has not already been taken by another user across Wavebid. Some company administrators choose their email address to be their team member's username.
  • Password: Must be at least 8 characters long, contain at least 1 uppercase character, 1 lowercase character, and 1 number digit. For information on resetting a user's password, see Wavebid Basics.
  • Email: The email address must be valid to ensure it can receive password reset and alert emails from Wavebid. Multiple users can have the same email address associated with their user accounts.
  • Locale: Determines the date formatting, currency, and tax or VAT is being used. The default is English- US for standard United States companies. For more information see, Company Profile.
  • Click the Save button in the top right corner of the page.
  •  

Once a user has been created, additional permissions can be granted to expand what the user is allowed to do. 

 

User Authorities                                                                                       

Authorities (permissions) control what a user is allowed to do within a company on Wavebid. By default, when a new user is created, all of their authorities are set to "inherited." This means they inherit the authorities/permissions that Wavebid has set for the overall company account. Often, companies will use authorities to limit or enhance particular accounts according to a user's role or position within the company. Only Admins have the ability to alter user authorities. To view/change user authorities:

  1. Navigate to My Links > User > Authorities.
  2. Begin typing the user's name or username into the User field. Click on the user's name from the Search Results list that appears. EditUserSearchField.PNG 
  3. Click on the Checkmark to the right of the permission to allow. Click on the X to the right of the permission to disallow.
    • Items that have the i icon (Inherit) on the right side have inherited those permissions based on the default, company-wide setting. UserPermission.PNG 
  4. The current status of the permission will appear in the Actual State column on the right side of the page.
  5. Click the Save button in the top right corner of the page. If the impacted user is currently logged in, they will need to log out and then log back in to see the changes. 

 

Troubleshooting                                                                                       

Users Can't See Auctions

If a user is logged in but is unable to see certain auctions on the Dashboard, the auctions are likely restricted. For more information, see Why Can't I See Auctions on the Dashboard?

 

 

Related Articles:

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.